Countries of Francophonie / Les pays de la Francophonie (v)

Useful French list of some of the countries members of La Francophonie


L'Albanie Albania
La Belgique Belgium
Andorre Andorra
L'Arménie Armenia
Le Bénin Benin
La Bulgarie Bulgaria
Le Burkina Faso Burkina Faso
Le Burundi Burundi
Le Cambodge Cambodia
Le Cameroun Cameroon
Le Canada Canada
Le Cap Vert Cape Verde
Les Comores Comoros
Le Congo Congo
La Côte d'Ivoire Ivory Coast
Djibouti Djibouti
La Dominique Dominica
L'Égypte Egypt
La France France
Le Gabon Gabon
La Grèce Greece
La Guinée Guinea
La Guinée Équatoriale Equatorial Guinea
Haïti Haiti
Le Laos Laos
Le Liban Lebanon
Le Luxembourg Luxemburg
Le Mali Mali
Le Maroc Morocco
L'île Maurice Mauritius
La Mauritanie Mauritania
La Moldavie Moldavia
Monaco Monaco
Le Niger Niger
La Roumanie Romania
Le Rwanda Rwanda
Sainte-Lucie Saint Lucia
Sao Tomé et Principe Sao Tome and Principe
Le Sénégal Senegal
Les Seychelles Seychelles
La Suisse Switzerland
Le Tchad Chad
Le Togo Togo
La Tunisie Tunisia
Le Vanuatu Vanuatu
Le Viêtnam Vietnam

Q&A Forum 1 question, 2 answers

KayC1Kwiziq community member

Why is Tahiti and Nouvelle Caledonie missing from this list?

Asked 5 months ago
CécileKwiziq team memberCorrect answer

Hi Kay, 

As Maarten says under the title it does say that this is some of the list of French-speaking countries and not the full list.

 If you are interested in knowing more, you will find the info on the following website -

Incidentally, Tahiti is an island which is part of French Polynesia.

Bonne Continuation!

MaartenC1 Kwiziq Q&A super contributor

2 possible reasons I can think of: 1) it is an incomplete list, as it notes, and 2) neither French Polynesia nor New Caledonia are independent countries. 

Why is Tahiti and Nouvelle Caledonie missing from this list?

Sign in to submit your answer

Don't have an account yet? Join today

Clever stuff underway!